Eddy Awards 2015

The 2015 Eddy Awards
Honoring Excellence in Education

The Santa Cruz Education Foundation’s Eddy Awards provide an opportunity for the community to recognize the outstanding commitment made daily by the dedicated educators, staff and volunteers of Santa Cruz City Schools.

The 2015 Eddy Awards were presented on May 22nd at the Kuumbwa Jazz Center.



Outstanding Teacher

  • Grades 9-12: Cathy Warner, Harbor High School
  • Grades 6-8: Jeff Singson, Branciforte Middle School
  • Grades 4-5: Katrina Haeger, Westlake Elementary School
  • Grades K-3: Claudia Riege, Gault Elementary School

Roseann Coonerty Layne Inspiring Teacher Award

  • Bryn Loosley, Mission Hill Middle School

Unsung Hero

  • Staff: Rosalie Lima, Westlake Elementary School
  • Volunteer: Joe Culver, Delaveaga Elementary School

Wellness Award

  • Kate Rascon, Playworks Coach, Bay View Elementary School

Special Foundation Award(s)

  • Santa Cruz City Schools Librarians
  • Michael Vahradian, Harbor High School

School of the Year

  • Westlake Elementary School

Community Supporter of the Year

  • Individual: John Wasserburger, Soquel High School
  • Organization: Santa Cruz Warriors

Innovation Award

  • Katie Harper, Santa Cruz High School

Before entering your nomination (and to verify if your nominee has already been honored), we encourage to learn more about previous winners by visiting these Eddy Awards pages: