Eddy Awards 2016

The Santa Cruz Education Foundation’s Eddy Awards provide an opportunity for the community to recognize the outstanding commitment made daily by the dedicated educators, staff and volunteers of Santa Cruz City Schools.

Every year we honor four teachers who teach Kindergarten through 3rd grade, 4th and 5th grade, 6th through 8th grade (middle school) and 9th through 12th grade (high school). The Roseann Coonerty Layne Inspiring Teaching Award recognizes 7-12 grade teachers who teach writing, history, social studies, government, civics or any other writing-intensive course. Learn more about the award and the teacher who inspired it.

The Eddy Awards also recognize staff, parent volunteers, community members and outstanding programs in our schools.

2016 Eddy Awards

The 2016 Eddy Awards will be presented on May 3, 2016 at the Kuumbwa Jazz Center.

The Eddy Awards.web

Congratulations to all the honorees of this year’s Eddy Awards. The Eddy Awards recognize the teachers, volunteers, staff and schools that are making our schools great. These honorees will be celebrated at this year’s Eddy Awards on Tuesday, May 3rd at the Kuumbwa Center. Congratulations!

Outstanding Teacher K-3
Beau Blanton – Westlake Elementary School
Charlene Oatey – Bay View Elementary School

Outstanding Teacher 4-5
Bronwyn Wyrsch – Gault Elementary School

Outstanding Teacher 6-8
Joe Hedgecock – Branciforte Middle School

Outstanding Teacher 9-12
Chris Carlson – Harbor High School

Wellness Award
Tara Rous and Anne Wilkinson – District Office

School of the Year
DeLaveaga Elementary School

Special Award
Julie McIntyre – Mission Hill Middle School

Community Supporter/Individual
Isabelle Tuncer- Gault Elementary School-El Sistema

Community Supporter/Organization
Boys and Girls Club of Santa Cruz County

Unsung Hero Classified
Ana Martinez- Soquel High School
Steacie Brightman and James Dinkins – Branciforte Small Schools

Unsung Hero Parent
Carol McKee- Gault Elementary School

Roseann Coonerty Layne Inspiring Teacher Award
Stacy Newsom-Kerr- Santa Cruz High School

Green Award
Global Student Embassy: Stacey Falls- Santa Cruz High School, Judith Meyer – Harbor High School, Matt Bruner – Soquel High School